Kyauktawgyi Pagoda

See in Map
Good Time To Visit:   The Whole Year
Visited: 4456 Time

Kyauktawgyi Pagoda

      Kyauktawgyi Pagoda is located at the corner of Pyay Road and Mindhama Road and on Mindhama Hill, Mingalardon Township, Yangon. The classical name of this Image is Lawkachantha Abaya Labamuni, meaning World Peace and Prosperity. The Lawka Chanthar Arbayar Laba Muni Buddha Image craved from the one piece of white is marble rock was done in year 2000 CE which is flawless and of hight quality measuring 37 feet long, 24 feet wide and 11 feet thick and a weight of weighs over 600 tons was found at Sakyin Hill, Madaya Township, Mandalay Division.

      This Sitting Buddha Image is curved out from a single marble stone. The giant stone was found in the Sakyin region, Medaya Township in Mandalay Division. The draft sculpture was carried through the Ayeyarwaddy River down to Yangon. Then it was finally touched up. The sculpting and the enshrining got completed in 2008 and located in Insein, Yangon.

      In the centre of the Pagoda structure is a shrine which houses the huge marble sitting Buddha which was carved from a single marble stone. The Buddha is a Bhumisparsha Mudra which is a gesture of “calling the earth to witness” (Buddha’s hand touching the earth). The main focus of the Buddha is the hands. As a result, the eyes of the Buddha image are almost closed – a strange form in Burmese Buddha images most of which normally have wide open eyes.

      From this main structure, there run four corridors (Zaungdans) on each side of the central shrine (North, South, East and West). The corridors are covered by roof and form connections from the Garden of Arahats (that surrounds the main pagoda) to the central structure. The Garden of Arahats is named after the individual shrines that house each of the eighty Arahats (disciples of Gautama Buddha). In each side of the pagoda in the garden, there are twenty individual shrines with one Arahat in each, making twenty Arahats in each side, with a total of eighty. These are the main disciples of Gautama Buddha.