Latest News

General Aung San Shield 2020 to be held in April 495

Myanmar Times
Mar 13, 2020
The General Aung San Shield tournament organised by the Myanmar Football Federation and Myanmar National League, will be held during the second week of April.

The drawing ceremony for the matches in the tournament was held at Myanmar Football Federation in Yangon on Thursday.

Twenty-five teams, including MNL, MNL 2 ,and five amateur clubs will compete in the tournament with first round matches involving 12 teams: 10/Mon versus Paung Laung, University versus Kachin United, Junior Lions versus Yaw Myay, Myawady versus champion of the Yangon Premier League, Silver Stars versus play-off winner from amateur teams, and Mawyawady versus Happy Friendship on April 8 and 9.

In second round, Chinland, Southern Myanmar, ISPE, Chin United, Magwe and Zwekapin United and the six winning teams from fthe irst round will play against each other on April 29 and May 3-4.

Based on the 2019 Myanmar National Leauge’s ranking, Yadanarbon, Sagaing United, Hantharwady United and Rakine United will start competing in the third round with the six winners from the second round in matches be held in May 19, 20 and 27. The current champion Yangon United, Shan United and Ayeyawady United will start competing from the quarter finals with the five winning teams from third round. Semi-final matches will be held home and away on August 8, 9 ,15 and 16.

The final will be held at Thuwunna Stadium on September 30. Other venues for the tournament’s earlier rounds are Padonmar, Salin, and Thuwunna stadiums. The champion will be awarded K30 million, the runner-up K15 million and semifinalists K7.5 million respectively.

Last year, Yangon United bagged the championship trophy beating Shan United 4-3 in the final.

Latest Update News